I Admit It…I Didn’t Practice What I Preach About Thrifting.

Last weekend I was at Goodwill where I found a gorgeous cobalt blue tunic, originally sold at Neiman Marcus. It was only $4.69 plus tax. Score!

There was an identical tunic in the same size on the rack beside the blue one. This one was a chartreuse green. I grabbed it and carried both shirts around the store before settling on the blue one.

I put the green one back on the rack.

Ever since last Saturday, I’ve been kicking myself. Why didn’t I just buy it?

So, last night I went back to Goodwill. And, of course, it was gone.

I didn’t practice what I preach.

Disheartened, I decided to paw through the shirts for the heck of it. I mean, I was there. Why not?

Suddenly, my eye spotted this amazingly supple, rich red top by Ann Taylor.

It had ruching on one size, pleats on the opposite shoulder, and the material felt like heaven.

Best of all, it was my size.

I grabbed it, measured it to make sure, bought it, took it home.

It wasn’t the chartreuse tunic, but it made my night.

red

If you are at a thrift store and see something that you think you want, hold onto that puppy until you get to the register. If you’re standing in line and decide that you don’t want it, then leave it with the cashier. Don’t put it down, especially if you are still quibbling inside over whether or not to get it.

I’ve learned my lesson the hard way. Thankfully, my return trip didn’t disappoint.

Leave a Reply

